Page 16 - DLNmay2015-994
P. 16

Open 25 Fred Peachey Memorial

    Let me commence with thanks to club members who assisted or rode
this event. Despite the early season we were blessed with a bright
sunny morning with little wind albeit a bit chilly to start with. As I was
somewhat incapacitated following an eye operation 5 days before the
event the help from members of the club was indeed valued.

    Val and Ian carefully placed the signs round the course from 6 am
onwards whilst Claire, Mick & Ann Hartley and Geoff Sinnett helped with
preparing the hall. Geoff then undertook the signing on task and Mick
& Ann prepared themselves to keep the result board up to date later on.

     The marshals of Steve & Mick Valentine positioned themselves at
Leeds RAB. Malc, Alan Rowe and Alan Constable took up residence at
Charing RAB whilst Stack, Tich and Kav travelled down to the Ashford

    Ian literally cut his teeth on taking on his first Open time trial
timekeeping role with Claire ably assisting him at the finish whilst Bill
undertook the start timekeeper role for the first time – so a day of
firsts all round. Well done. We had experienced hands on the pushing
off role of Mike Peel and Roy Savery.

    Teas and cakes duty fell to Debbie, Lyn and Jean who I am told did
remarkably well.

    Val eventually had time to sit down whilst waiting for the finish times
to be phoned through by Claire to be placed on the result board.

The event itself attracted 61 riders. The winning time was:

Jonathon Parker from PMR@Toachim House with  53.53

Fastest Lady was Bronwen Ewing, Trainsharp RT with 1.02.17

Fastest Junior was Oliver Robinson, Thanet RC with 1.02.52

   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21